top of page
  • Writer's pictureSofía I. Capllonch

Session 10: Thoughts on ARQU 4146

Throughout the ARQU4146 course on Architectural Theory, many discussions have stemmed from the comparison between Rafael Moneo and Frank Gehry, each of them brilliant designers in their own ways. The aesthetic qualities present in their work are undoubtedly what sets them apart in the architectural profession. However, the themes discussed in the course, such as surfacing, ordering, and authorship, allow for a deeper discussion, not just in regards to Moneo and Gehry, but to architecture in general terms, and beyond.


While I did not imagine an Architectural Theory course with references to the French film world, Wagner, and even Pop Art, such theoretical aspects certainly diversified the courses’ in-person meetings and topics of discussion, which is why I found the course to be insightful in a multidisciplinary way. I also enjoyed the flexibility in terms of investigating and learning while writing each entry. Finally, I once again appreciated the chance of reading and analyzing other students’ blogs, as I was able to understand different perspectives and compare them to my own.


Similar to the ARQU 4213 course, the practice of writing weekly blog posts once again allowed me to improve my writing and increase my interest in architectural theory and investigation, with a profound awareness of surfacing, ordering, authorship and intention.





19 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page